8/12/22

Ladybug Nominee

The Very Impatient Caterpillar by Ross Burach (Scholastic Press, 2019)

 This clever sendup of every child's biggest challenge--being patient!--will make you flutter with glee, while also providing a tongue-in-cheek tutorial on metamorphosis.

About Ross Burach

This author of this book loves drawing pictures, making up jokes, dabbling in animation, and hanging out with his family. He lives in Brooklyn, New York. His website it at https://www.rossburach.com

Activities & Links

Suggestions for Further Reading
 
This is one of ten titles nominated for the 2022 Ladybug Picture Book Award.
We will be posting information about a different nominee each Friday throughout the summer and will issue a pdf voters guide featuring all ten titles at Labor Day.

8/8/22

Book of the Week (8/8/2022)

All the Flowers of the Mountain by Christina Holbrook (Karen Wyatt, 2022)

"Set in New Hampshire, 'All the Flowers of the Mountain' is a coming-of-age love story combined with a mystery that haunts the characters for the rest of their lives.

In a Paris art gallery, Dr. Michael Pearce comes upon a sculpture by the artist Katherine Morgan. His discovery of the vivid bronze artwork sends Pearce reeling back into his past.

Devastatingly lifelike, the sculpture evokes memories of a summer many years earlier when Michael and Katherine-Kit-met as teenagers by a lake in New Hampshire. He was a small-town boy who skied, played guitar, and was destined to run his father's hardware store; she was the restless, troubled daughter of a wealthy New York family.

Set amidst the mountains, farmlands, and elegant summer homes of rural New England, All the Flowers of the Mountain is the story of a pivotal summer for Michael and Kit. Michael's ambitions are ignited by this young woman-he grows determined that their future will be together. But Kit dreams of becoming an artist and her struggle with a mysterious event from the past leads her to a deadly showdown by summer's end, and decisions that will break Michael's heart." --Publisher's blurb

Join author and NH native, Christina Holbrook at Gibson's Bookstore on Saturday, August 27th, 2022 at 1pm where she will be discussing her new book.

8/5/22

Ladybug Nominee

This Very Tree: A Story of 9/11, Resilience, and Regrowth by Sean Rubin (Henry Holt and Company, 2021)

 In the 1970s, a Callery pear tree was planted in New York City. And every year, its flowers ushered in the spring. But on September 11, 2001, everything changed. America was gravely wounded, as was the tree. This is the triumphant story of a tree that survived a tragedy--and of a nation in recovery. Told from the tree's perspective, this is a touching tribute to those we lost and to those who, after the towers fell, picked up the pieces, planted a forest, and built a new city.

About Sean Rubin

Sean Rubin was born in Brooklyn, New York. As a city kid, he entertained himself by collecting interesting things, learning about unusual subjects, and by drawing characters from books, especially Redwall and The Lord of the RingsBolivar, the first book Rubin both wrote and illustrated, received several awards. He studied art and archeology at Princeton University, where he met his wife, Lucy. They have two sons and currently live in Charlottesville, Virginia, where they enjoy hiking, visiting museums, and drinking chocolate egg creams. Learn more at http://seanrubin.com/

Activities & Links

 
Suggestions for Further Reading
This is one of ten titles nominated for the 2022 Ladybug Picture Book Award.
We will be posting information about a different nominee each Friday throughout the summer and will issue a pdf voters guide featuring all ten titles at Labor Day.

8/1/22

Book of the Week (8/1/2022)

The Girl, the Pig, and the Accidental Demon by Amos J. Landon (Balboa Press, 2022)

NH author Amos J. Landon's debut children's novel is a quirky, funny and endearing story.

"In the tradition of Coraline and A Series of Unfortunate Events comes the peculiar and humorous story of Juju Jones and the Agency for the Welfare of the Formerly Living. Thirteen-year-old Juniper "Juju" Jones was used to being abandoned, but not prepared to be orphaned. To cope, she does the most logical thing-gets a job. Her new boss, a sentient pig in a jar named Mr. Squigglesworth, is the first person to value her eccentricities, so she dedicates herself to his Agency for the Welfare of the Formerly Living (A.W.F.L), aiding the most outcast of outcasts-taxidermied baby ducks and preserved livers. Threatening their good work is Leland Verbrecher, a former science teacher with a vendetta against Mr. Squigglesworth. But unexpected help comes when Juju accidentally summons a caterwauling demon with a knack for finding outrageous and kind allies willing to step in when they see Juju in danger. When tragedy strikes, Juju faces her worst fear: She must ask for help and trust her newfound friends in a bizarre rescue plan-before it is too late." --Publisher's blurb

7/29/22

Ladybug Nominee

Someone Builds the Dream by Lisa Wheeler and Loren Long (Dial Books for Young Readers, 2021)

Buildings, bridges, and books don't exist without the workers who are often invisible in the final product, as this joyous and profound picture book reveals.

An eye-opening exploration of the many types of work that go into building our world--from the making of a bridge to a wind farm, an amusement park, and even the very picture book that you are reading. An architect may dream up the plans for a house, but someone has to actually work the saws and pound the nails. This book is a thank-you to the skilled women and men who work tirelessly to see  dreams brought to life.

About Lisa Wheeler

Lisa Wheeler grew up in a family of steel workers and welders. She is the author of many books including the past Ladybug nominees Ugly Pie (2011) and One Dark Night (2004). She lives near Detroit, Michigan.  Her website is https://www.lisawheelerbooks.com/

About Loren Long

Loren Long is the author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Otis picture books, the first of which was nominated for the Ladybug Picture Book Award in 2010. He has also illustrated several other previous Ladybug nominees, including the 2022 nominee Change Sings. The Otis series has been developed as an animated television series, Get Rolling With Otis, on Apple TV, which Long executive produced. Learn more at https://lorenlong.com/#about 

Activities & Links

Suggestions for Further Reading
This is one of ten titles nominated for the 2022 Ladybug Picture Book Award.

We will be posting information about a different nominee each Friday throughout the summer and will issue a pdf voters guide featuring all ten titles at Labor Day.