Awards at ALA

Yesterday was a big day for children's book awards. The American Library Association announced the winners of the various "Youth Media Awards" at their annual conference yesterday. Among the winners:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:
The One and Only Ivan, written by Katherine Applegate, is the 2013 Newbery Medal winner. The book is published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:
This Is Not My Hat, illustrated and written by Jon Klassen, is the 2013 Caldecott Medal winner. The book is published by Candlewick Press.
This year marks the 75th anniversary of the Caldecott Medal.

No comments: